• The Tenuous Purpose

    This Blog is built - not, as some might expect, on a flimsy whim but on a strong and single minded principle.

    That principle concerns Biscuits and their position in the world.

    We are really very keen on biscuits.
    As are many of you out there.
    We think.

    We wish to create an archive of Arrowroot, a backlog of Bourbons and a catalogue of Chocolate Fingers. Anybody can contribute an entry - or dispute somebody else's - provided they are not dull.
    Even Americans who perhaps don't really have the heritage of biscuitry that we are fortunate to have here.

    Or maybe they do and we are unaware of the full glory of the cookie.

    We realise that this whole subject is admirably and concisely dealt with by that excellent and unbeatable website A Nice Cup of Tea and a Sit Down. Our feeble efforts will be as the kicking of a gadfly in the face of their wisdom and experience but we hope that we may have a small contribution to make.

  • Biscuit Encounters on Twitter

  • The Synod of Biscuitry

    James Alexander-Sinclair of Blackpitts
    Gardener, Blogger, Journalist, Lecturer etc, etc. Much of his life is spent loafing around other people’s gardens issuing directives and generally cluttering up the place. However, like the great Mr Kipling, he does (occasionally) make exceptionally good gardens. (Although even Mr Kipling messed up a bit with the Carrot and Walnut Mini Classics.)

    Mark Diacono of Otter Farm
    He does sterling work growing many inappropriate plants in Devon. He dedicates a great deal of time and effort nurturing a plethora of plants that are (mostly) totally unsuited to our climate. His is a life of such extreme eccentric dedication that to start a Blog about Biscuits seems perfectly normal. He treads gently in the footsteps of people like the great William Buckland,a professor of Geology who claimed that he could tell location by tasting the local topsoil.

Let’s Twix Again, Like We Did Last Summer…

A short but important (to me) note on a Twix.

My grandmother was a fantastic lady who fought cancer gallantly and eventually lost. She died when I was 18 and I still think of her and her husband (my Papa, who died 6 months before her) everyday. I wonder does anyone else have a strong emotion attached to a biscuit like me?

Every Sunday my Nana, in those later years of my teenage life, would come over to my parents home for supper after church. I was usually studying or trying to watch TV and didn’t fully appreciate the time I had with her then; ah, the pain of hindsight. Anyway, she always bought me a Twix, sometimes a double Twix and I now associate them with her. When I eat one I feel her presence, is that silly?

So, do you think of it as a biscuit or a chocolate bar? It’s one of those ones that crosses the barrier. A biscuit base with caramel on top all covered in chocolate. Until I die I shall demand that it be recognised as biscuit and with all my energy, I shall challenge you to duel if you disagree. My Nana called it a biscuit and therefore it was/is. She also kept them in the fridge, the chocolate was nicer that way and the caramel took longer to melt.

How do you eat yours??  I break it in half, take one half at a time and nibble the chocolate from around the edges, eat off the caramel and thoroughly enjoy it melting on my tongue, then eat the crunchy base. Good grief, I’m dribbling all over the place thinking about it. To just eat it as is, is sacrilege and will not be tolerated in my home! But I respect your right to eat your Twix in whatever way you wish, out of my sight. My way, is the proper way though and that should go without saying really.

Do you have a biscuit with an emotional attachment?

Carrie Gault. plain

**You will notice that, this being Carrie’s fifth post, she has been formally awarded the title plain. Details of the honours system can be found here.

She is the first of our honoured contributors to have reached this level and we salute her.      Ave, Carrie.plain

13 Responses

  1. I’M PLAIN!!!! Hurrah for me. I’d like to thank……

  2. To me, a Twix has always been a chocolate bar, but lets not argue over such things, it’s a divine creation, guaranteed to give you a boost, like a bowl of piping hot soup on a chilly day. Now to the preparation. It has to have been in the fridge for at least three days, so when the fingers are slipped out of the foil packet they snap cleanly in half with no messy strings of caramel.

  3. I agree messy caramel ruins the whole affair. I find they are best served at a very cold, if not freezing, allotment. An energy boost indeed but also a boost for the soul – life is worth living when there is a great biscuity treat to be had.

  4. The problem with Twix is that you’re almost obliged to share them. The only solution I’ve been able to come up with is to eat them with an angry face so that I’m left alone.

  5. No, the excellent thing about a Twix is that when you have finished your bar (sorry, not biscuit) you instantly have another one to eat without feeling in any way greedy! Sharing? No way.

  6. Congratulations Carrie – but you’re really anything but Plain 😉

    I was addicted to Twix when I was at school – I always had one when I got home each day, straight from the fridge. Yum.

    Sharing? You must be joking!

  7. Twix for me equals exam food.

    Half-way through a 3 hour paper, needing a sugar boost and something to allow the mind to freewheel gently for 5 mins, before getting stuck into the problems again…

  8. SHARE???? Share a Twix! Well that’s just craziness.

    Thank you VP 😉

  9. New Shoot – I see you still have the BJ problem…

  10. Carrie. May I use this opportunity to say a few words on behalf of the Convenor and myself * fumbles large pile of foolscap*
    We would like to formally express our appreciation and congratulations to you on this *shouts of Get On With It from tough eggs in back row* solemn and momentous occasion. It is not often that we get the chance to reward such a worthy recipient of one of our exclusive and * turnip whizzes past ear*, dare I say, coveted Awards.
    After five noted contributions to this blog you are now entitled *dodges shoe thrown by Iranian journalist* to use the suffix ‘plain’ on all formal correspondence. It may also be inscribed upon your coat of arms and should be used by those wishing to address you on any subject…. *hurriedly withdraws under hail of organic sprouts*…………….

  11. The only way to eat a Twix is to nibble the biscuit off the bottom first, then roll up the caramel and consume the chocolate/caramel ‘swiss roll’. Perhaps not in polite comany. Mind you, I also skin jelly babies.

  12. It is dangerous to dunk Twix as “there is many a slip…”

  13. The commissar – I salute you and all you stand for. I am but your servant. x

    Happy Mouffetard! You are a witch that is the only thing I can think at this moment! The biscuit FIRST!!! Skinning jelly babies – you frigthen me.

    Wise Arabella – too right, when I got older and tried to be ‘grown up’ with my twix experiences it never worked. Cold is the way to go, hot drink after.

Leave a Reply

